Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Poison Kisses (#3 Poison Kisses Serials) Lisa Renee Jones - Now Available


Author 
Lisa Renee Jones 

Genre
Contemporary Romance 

Publication Date 
20 January 2018 



what to hide, because they know what is unforgivable to you. Now that I know what Seth hid from me, I want the secret to be the lie. I don't want to kill him. I don't want to leave him. I guess that is why they say there is a fine line between love and hate. I love and hate that man with such passion, that it damn near hurts. But now, as we face down our shared enemies, as we are lead right back to an explosive discover about my family, and to the night Seth and I parted ways, we will both be exposed in every way. And it's time for me to decide if I plan to love Seth Cage for the rest of my life, or kill him, before he kills me.
***Part three of the three part Poison Kisses Serial****









This finale is superbly delivered and nicely wraps up the loose ends from the first two parts of Poison Kisses.

This part is told in Amanda's POV and starts off with a flash back of what happened on that fateful night, three years ago. It then continues from where it left in the previous book. 

Amanda is heartbroken at what she has just discovered and she is conflicted between the past and the present. Seth has to gain her trust once again even though the revelation is damning. They still have a way to go to stop the villain from reaching his evil goal. Too many lives are at risk and the best way forward is to work together. In the process, they uncover the secrets behind the mysteries and some of the findings are gobsmacking. The corruption within the authorities knows no bound and every step they take is dangerous. Knowing who to trust is frustrating, but together, they are a force to be reckoned with. In more ways than one!

Poison Kisses is an intricately crafted plot. The mystery, the danger, the betrayal and the suspense make for a compulsive read. Seth and Amanda are strong and engaging characters. Their love for each other is very palpable and so beautiful. Bear and Julie make a valuable contribution to the story and it's so nice to catch up with Brandon and Emily. I devoured and savoured every part of this story. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion.


Previous Books In The Serials


Poison Kisses Part 1
Amanda Skye made me want her. She made me trust her. She made me love her. Then she betrayed me. And now, a madman brings us together again and before our battle with him is over, I will make sure that she never forgets my name: Seth Cage. The Fixer for The Brandon Family Empire, but to a covert CIA operation, I will always be The Assassin. And to Amanda, I will be the man who made her moan, sigh, and beg. And I will make her beg.
***Note -- Poison Kisses is part 1 of a 3 part serial: All three parts are super sexy with an alpha man who has met his match in a kickass female. There will be naked moments that may or may not include a gun, which may or may not be his gun. ****




Poison Kisses Part 2
I loved her. She left me. She betrayed me but now it's time to open the closed doors. I'll tell her my secret if she tells me hers. Our history, is more than lies. It's our story, and I will do whatever it takes to reveal it all. I'm the Assassin, She's The Poison Princess. We're going to kill the bad guys, but we're still deciding if we're enemies. The one thing for certain, is we're both going to strip down and get bare.
***Part two of the sexy, thrilling three part Poison Kisses serial****







New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones is the author of the highly acclaimed INSIDE OUT series. Suzanne Todd (producer of Alice in Wonderland) on the INSIDE OUT series: Lisa has created a beautiful, complicated, and sensual world that is filled with intrigue and suspense. Sara’s character is strong, flawed, complex, and sexy - a modern girl we all can identify with.

In addition to the success of Lisa's INSIDE OUT series, she has published many successful titles. The TALL, DARK AND DEADLY series and THE SECRET LIFE OF AMY BENSEN series, both spent several months on a combination of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling lists. Lisa is presently working on a dark, edgy new series, Dirty Money, for St. Martin's Press.
Prior to publishing Lisa owned multi-state staffing agency that was recognized many times by The Austin Business Journal and also praised by the Dallas Women's Magazine. In 1998 Lisa was listed as the #7 growing women owned business in Entrepreneur Magazine.







Tuesday, February 20, 2018

From Geek to Greek Billionaire by Gloria Silk


Author 
Gloria Silk 

Genre
Contemporary Romance 

Publication Date 
1 December 2017


Olivia Moore has landed her dream job—to renovate a very special beach house for her best friend, Maria. The last thing Olivia needs is to bump into her teen crush, the geeky yet sexy Alexander Anderson. The young man she fell deeply in love with is now her best friend’s brother-in-law. 

When the shy, enigmatic bachelor asks for Olivia’s help with a special makeover and an infusion of confidence to woo a particular woman (unaware that she’s the one he’s after) she wants nothing to do with him. After all despite her generous nature to help everyone, she cannot risk getting closer to him. What if she falls in love with him again and then if he discovers her secret past, which she is still coming to terms with, it may tear them apart forever? 

(This bestselling story is an expanded and enhanced 40,000 word novelette which was first published as part of the amazing Billionaires on the Beach Anthology which donated 100% of the proceeds for breast cancer in summer of 2017.)









This romantic novella addresses a sensitive medical issue and how those involved react to such a delicate and difficult situation.

Olivia is an interior designer with a younger sister as her only family. She is blessed with two supportive best friends who want nothing more than to see her happy. 

Alexander is a successful billionnaire who thrives on helping those in need. He has a large close knit family, but something from his past repetitively puts a damper on his love life.

Alexander and Olivia are youngsters working together in preparation for a charity gala when they develop a deep connection and one thing leads to another. A jealous worker gives Alexander false information about Olivia and instead of tackling her, he runs away. Back to Greece. 

Over nine years later whilst Olivia is working on a renovation project, she runs into Alexander. Seeing each other again brings mixed feelings. First joy, then anger, hurt and resentment. He wants to discuss the past event and the reasons why he left, but she doesn't trust him anymore. Even though they are both aware that their feelings are as strong as before, neither of them expect each other's reaction. He is persistent and resorts to scheming to spend time with her. It works, and they fall into a comfortable friendship which leads to passionate interactions. Alexander isn't aware of what Olivia has been through and the difficulties that she has faced. Will he run when he uncovers the truth or show her how he really feels? 

Olivia is kind, courageous and always willing to give a helping hand, but she has insecurities. Quite understandable! Alexander is loyal, loving, hardworking and generous, but he too has insecurities for different reasons. It's a deeply emotional story where there are pain and tears. Despite everything, the author manages to include humour to make for a lighter read. 

This romance is very touching. Watching Alexander and Olivia struggle with their feelings is excruciating. They are destined for each other and the end is what they rightly deserve. It's beautifully portrayed and the primary and secondary characters are totally believable. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion. 







USA Today Bestselling Author, Gloria Silk, writes empowering, sensuous international romance. Her books are filled with intense passion and swoon-worthy happy-ever-afters. The love stories concentrate on the many facets of romantic relationships and strong and complex family bonds.

Her debut novel 'First and Only Destiny' and 'Second Destiny' have been re-released in their second editions. 

The long awaited 'Nobody's Baby But Mine is out on August 31, and 'Breaking the Chains' is out in the fall of 2017.

Gloria Silk was born in Russia and was brought up in England. She has lived in Europe and the Mediterranean and loves to travel. Her background in English literature, writing, and psychology help her create well-rounded, unique characters for her intercultural love stories. She's also an artist (using watercolors and acrylics) and a designer, and is published in non-fiction as Tanya Freedman.

Gloria now lives - and writes - in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, with her own hero-husband, lovely daughter, and Cockapoo Princess Bella.








Twisted End (0.7 Sons of Broad) Tara Thomas


Author 
Tara Thomas 

Genre
Romantic Suspense 

Publication Date 
20 February 2018




From New York Times bestselling author Tara Sue Me, writing as Tara Thomas, comes an explosive new romantic suspense series.

Welcome to the sultry streets of Charleston, where simmering desire and dark danger rule...

First comes desire.
Then comes love.
But Janie and Brent need to stop the man out to ruin them,

Before they can live happily ever after…






In this last installment, the suspense keeps building as the imminent danger creates chaos, pain and heartache.

Janie's realisation about the identity of the murderer comes a little too late. Brent is frantic and fears for her safety which doesn't look promising. Alyssa, her best friend is in a state of shock, but knows where her loyalty lies. This time, the hunt is on for the murderer. He is a dangerous chauvinist! Can Brent and Alyssa salvage the situation and bring Janie back where she belongs? 

As everything comes to a head, justice is done, but the orchestrator behind this devious plot remains at large. His identity and objective remain a mystery. 

I have thoroughly enjoyed reading Brent's and Janie's story which ends on a beautiful note and would fully recommend. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion.




Tara Thomas’s love of books and writing started as a child and though she wanted to be an author, she decided a degree in science was more practical. After fifteen years in the pharmaceutical industry, she returned to her first love and hasn’t looked back since.
She writes erotic romance as Tara Sue Me. Her Submissive Series novels have been on both the New York Times and USA Today Bestseller lists. Her novel THE MASTER earned a starred review from Publisher’s Weekly, was awarded Best Romance of 2016 from Best Book Awards, and is a 2017 RITA Finalist for Best Erotic Romance.









Monday, February 19, 2018

When the Stars Come Out (#5 Cottonbloom) Laura Trentham


Author 
Laura Trentham 

Genre
Contemporary Romance 

Publication Date 
30 January 2018


Cottonbloom. A beautiful, faraway place where a woman can escape her past—and find reason to stay forever in Laura Trentham's When the Stars Come Out. . .
Willa Brown never planned to stay in Cottonbloom. She was on the way to somewhere else when she landed there and found work at the Abbot brothers’ garage. . .and a sense of comfort and safety that she had never known. The same holds true for Jackson Abbott himself. With one glance in her direction, he can make Willa’s heart melt. But what begins as an unrequited crush turns into something far more powerful than Willa could have ever imagined. . .
Jackson’s most meaningful relationship has always been with his car—and he’s not afraid to admit it. Still, he can’t help but become emotionally entangled with his new star mechanic Willa, who is definitely hiding some dark secrets of her own beneath the hood. Jackson desperately wants Willa to trust him, and to seek protection in his arms. But even as the two slowly surrender to their shared attraction, the danger lurking in Willa’s past remains a stubborn obstacle. Can she open up enough to give them both a chance at having real and lasting love?












Cottonbloom is a marvellous backdrop for this alluring romance.

Jackson is one of the four Abbott brothers who own and manage a motormechanic, and restoration garage. His first love is his classic Mustang!

Willa has been working in the garage for the past two years. She does her best to stay "invisible", but one of the best mechanics in town.

The brothers don't know much about Willa's past and have respected her privacy up to now. When Jackson starts to notice her, not as a coworker, but as a woman, he wants to know more about her. She has admired him from day one, but her secrets hang over her head with the threat that she might have to leave at short notice.

Once Jackson realises how much her leaving would affect him, he starts to cautiously delve into her past. Willa is torn as she doesn't really want to leave her modest life in Cottonbloom. He is set on gaining her trust and help her with whatever her issues are, if she would let him. After all the events leading her to Cottonbloom, she has difficulties in trusting anyone. Can Jackson gain the trust that he craves to keep her by his side?

Jackson and Willia are similar in many ways. Expressing their feelings doesn't come easy. I admire Jackson's gentleness and patience. Willa's strength materialises when she decides to face her past instead of staying on the run. The romance starts as a slow burn until it reaches a boiling point. It's a delightful read even though it's slow in places. It's a well carved storyline with well developed characters. A captivating novel well worth reading.

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion.






I was born and raised in a small town in Northwest Tennessee. Although, I loved English and reading in high school, I was convinced an English degree equated to starvation! So, I chose the next most logical major - Chemical Engineering- and worked in a hard hat and steel toed boots for several years. Now I live in South Carolina with my husband and two children. In between school and homework and soccer practices, I love to get lost in another world, whether its Regency England or small town Alabama.










Saturday, February 17, 2018

Tales For The Season (A Christmas Anthology)


Author (s) 

JB Joseph 
Alyssa Drake
Jeremy Simmons
Veronique Poirier 
S J Hermann 
Bella Emy 
H B Jasick
Rosie Chapel 
Y M Zachery
Shaan Ranae
Niki Livingston


A Christmas Anthology Featuring 12 Amazing Authors 







I might be a little late reading this anthology or I suppose I could be extra early! Anyway I don't think that it really matters. 







All I Want for Christmas

Bella Emy


As per the title, this revolves around the holiday period. 

Scarlett Mae prefers to be called just Scarlett, and is a news anchor in New York. She has decided to return to her small hometown in Texas for a break. 

Cole is a Texan through and through and loves his horses. 

Scarlett has a chance meeting with Dustin at the airport and this leads her down memory lane. She has crushed on his brother Cole for as long as she can remember. The thing is that she still has a crush on him, but she doesn't know anything about his life. Sixteen years away is a long time. 

Dustin takes great delight telling Cole about his encounter with Scarlett and this is enough for him to contemplate what he should have done so many years ago. She is always at the back of his mind. Will this be the ideal opportunity for them to express their feelings or is it too late? 

I like the chemistry between Cole and Scarlett. Dustin and Jenny, Scarlett's sister are great supportive characters. The author kept me guessing and held my attention. It has a myriad of emotions and it’s easy to read. This sweet romance ends beautifully.




Regency Christmas

Rosie Chapel 


This novella revolves around the waltz becoming socially acceptable in the Regency period. With propriety of course! 

One member of the tons is organising a pre Christmas party with the waltz as its main attraction. Unfortunately on the first year, something drastic happens and adjustments have to be made with the couple paired up for this occasion. 

Four years later, Harriet is one of the lucky participants picked for this occasion. The problem is that she has two left feet and doesn't care much for social etiquettes. 

Joanna, her best friend is very encouraging, but it comes to a point when she needs help. Who better than her brother Jasper? He has kept to himself for the past four years and it's about time that he starts getting his act together. He agrees to be Harriet’s practising partner and as they spend time together, feelings change. They both have insecurities and daren’t acknowledge these feelings. As luck would have it, a ghost from the past is only too keen to become matchmaker. Will she succeed in knocking some sense into them to face up to reality? 

There is tragedy and some rather unfortunate mishaps along the way, but there is humour too. I like the interactions between Jasper and Harriet and the Christmas magic is contagious! This light historical romance is entertaining and fun to read.



A Christmas Miracle 


SJ Hermann & Bella Emy 


This gripping story is about the grieving process and a little Christmas magic. 

Suzy is a eight years old and she isn't looking forward to Christmas. It won't be the same this year. Her father, Jim is just as distraught, but making an effort for his little girl. He faces another distressing and mysterious situation on Christmas Eve. It would take a miracle to put things right. Can Santa work his magic? 

This is a heartfelt story which brought tears to my eyes. It's very well portrayed and the characters are believable. These two authors sure know how to pull at the heartstrings. A short and emotional story with a gratifying conclusion.




Five Gold Rings


S J Hermann 

This is a story about a couple barely tolerating each other whilst watching their relationship disintegrate.

Peter and Jennifer are married with two children, Kevin and Emily. On their way to a family visit just before Christmas, the treacherous weather leads to a disastrous situation. Being stranded in freezing condition with nowhere to go causes resentment. Initially, there is blame, then realisation of what's been lost and what could have been. Whilst everyone appears to lose the battle, Emily stays strong and tries to hold things together. She uses the five gold rings from her play to give the others strength and hope. Can those rings produce the miracle she is hoping for?

Although things don't turn out quite as expected, there is a strong message in this story. No matter how difficult things appear to be, love never really dies. A very sad story indeed. It gives food for thoughts!

This compilation is very well put together. Every story is different, but each carries a message as well as lessons to be learnt. A good mixture of love, loss, happiness and grief. Above all, love is the key! I really enjoyed reading every one of them.
 








Wednesday, February 14, 2018

The Red Rose (#3 Rose Series) A M Helen



Author 
A M Helen 

Publication Date 
14 FeFebrua 2018 

Genre
Adult Contemporary Romance 




Dark. Dangerous. Angry. Italian Millionaire Sebastian Moretti has lost his grip on everything he’s tried so hard to keep in his life, but his obsession remains steadfast. Melissa Medina belongs with him. And Sebastian’s abducted her cousin Catalina to make sure that fantasy becomes a reality.

But Melissa’s formidable fiancĂ©, billionaire Alexander Kane, will do anything to keep the killer away from the love of his life. He’s hunting Sebastian Moretti and will not rest until Catalina is rescued and Sebastian pays for the horrors he has inflicted on both their families.

Though wealth and determination are no substitute for powerful friends. Sebastian has new dangerous allies. Joss Baker owes Alexander Kane pain for the death of his daughter and he’s found the perfect weapon to destroy the billionaire.

It’s time for everyone to pick a side. Justice? Or redemption? The Red Rose brings this compelling and seductive saga to an explosive climax.



The conflict and rivalry from "The White Rose" continue in this installment, and become more and more dangerous. 

Alexander and Melissa are bathed in happiness about their forthcoming event when a big problem arises. Her cousin, Catalina disappears!

Melissa is still on Sebastian's radar and he knows that she would do anything for her family. He succeeds into baiting her to meet him and she has to use deception to avoid alerting anyone of this meeting. She believes that he won't hurt her, but he is so desperate that he is contemplating the unthinkable. She walks straight into a trap! 

David has found out that Catalina has gone missing, the hard way. He is distraught by the news and joins Alexander in his search. What happens next is violent and distressing. When they feel that the danger has passed, someone else intervenes to make matters even worse. Can they find a way to thwart the threats once and for all? Failing would only bring more misery.

Sebastian is obsessed, but surprises everyone in the end. Joss is driven by vengeance and guilt. Some of the revelations are quite shocking. David and Catalina find their soulmate in each other and what they have to face to get peace and happiness is heartwrenching. Melissa and Alexander are passionate about each other and their love is so profound that it's palpable. Gisele tries to play her cards right, but she too has an unpleasant surprise.

The Red Rose is a dark and intense novel. It's fast paced and danger is everywhere. There is loyalty, hate, anger, betrayal and deviousness. David, Catalina, Melissa and Alexander have a terrible fight on their hands before they have their happy endings. It's an emotive page turner which captured my attention from beginning to end. A well portrayed complex story. 

I was kindly issued with an eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion. 









AM Helen has been a tailor, waitress, a factory hand, a songwriter and answered the phone for many leading companies. After an illness resulting in memory issues a psychologist advised her to ‘exercise’ her brain, so she began to write as a hobby. She’s written short stories and novellas in genres such as crime, sci-fi and horror, but after an editor mentioned that her work had love stories at their core, she decided to write The Blue Rose.







Translate