Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Saturday, June 24, 2017

House of Terrors (#2 The Ambrosia Trilogy) Beatrice Sand



Author                        Beatrice Sand 
Publication Date      24 July 2017 
Genre                         New Adult Paranormal 
                                    Mythology Romance 
                                     

It’s been months since Laurel left her home and family to escape her destiny – a destiny that has her giving birth to a demigod. She’s getting by with the help of Aurore, a Titaness with a dangerous secret of her own, who becomes charged with Laurel’s protection. One day, when Laurel accidentally meets the now cold-blooded Sampson, she knows she has lost his love for good. And when she learns the ugly truth about her mother’s death, she never again wants to have anything to do with the Olympians, resigning herself to a future in safety among the Titans. Only when she finds out that the Keepers will stop at nothing to get her back, and that her family is in immediate danger, she returns to Sooke where the son of darkness is waiting for her – and he is determined to fulfill his and Laurel’s destiny. 





This second instalment of The Ambrosia Trilogy gives a lot more insight on the Olympians and the Titans. They are at war with each other for something that's been going on for centuries. These young demigods are puppets in the hands of the gods through the Keepers, who have them under control. Zeus is driven by Apollo's prophecy of the birth of a child. This prophecy will give him power and he won't allow anything to get in his way. 

Laurel is nearing her nineteenth birthday,crucial to the prophecy. Despite everything, she has settled in with the Titans who have become her friends. They are also her protectors as they are aware of their fate, should the prophecy become reality. 

Sam is no longer the person she used to know. The magic used on him as a punishment has completely changed his personality. It's easier for him to go along with the gods' wishes, until an unexpected change materialises. He then starts to see things more clearly. 

Laurel attends a concert where Chaos, Sam's band is playing, and their encounter destroys her flicker of hope. He is cold and dismissive. No longer the loving and caring man that he was. 

This instalment goes deeper into the root of the prophecy and as the story develops, doubts start to creep in. The young demigods start to realise that they haven't been told the whole truth. The Olympians have caused a lot damage to Laurel's family to achieve their goals. When she meets Sam after the change, their attraction hasn't waned in the slightest. If anything, it's stronger than ever but Adrian won't give up. He wants the glory, even though Laurel has no intention of getting tangled up in his evil ways but, he is devious and soon has them in a tight corner. The change in some of the relationships between the Titans and the Olympians add an intriguing and fascinating layer to this well thought out plot. There are just as much mixed emotions, if not more, in this second part of the story as there were in the first part. It's addictive and compulsive. 

I was totally invested in this well paced and fascinating story. The multiple layers are portrayed in such a way that it doesn't cause any confusion but, there is no lack of suspense. I love the chemistry between Sam and Laurel. The secondary characters are strongly portrayed. The loyal ones are admirable. I must admit that halfway through, Laurel's uncertainties and her habit of jumping to the wrong conclusions are irritating but, she redeems herself. Her strength of character, love and compassion shine when it really matters. It ends on a nail biting cliffhanger and I am really looking forward to the next instalment. 

I received a complimentary eARC from the author and the views expressed are my personal opinion.





Will be available on Amazon 
&
Barnes and Nobles 


Book one
House of Guardians 
Available for purchase on

Amazon US  ~ Amazon UK

Kobo  ~ Barnes and Nobles

Add to Goodreads


When 17-year-old Laurel Harper decides to go live with her estranged father and stepfamily, she’s unaware of the fact that her fate was already sealed the day she was born. She is now exactly where some higher power wants her to be. But it’s not until she meets the proud and mysterious Sam Laurens that she feels something strange is going on. Why does he keep interfering in her life? 

Then Laurel finds out about Sam’s ominous ancestry and a whole different fear arises. Fear of who Sam really is. Fear of her own feelings. And when she learns the dark truth about her own future, a sinister secret that will change everything as soon as she turns nineteen, she wants to run and hide, but soon realizes that there is no hiding from fate. Sam may be the only one who can help her escape her destiny, but then she has to start trusting him again, and time is of the essence because he has his own fate to deal with. Still, Sam is determined to stop Laurel from meeting her doom, even if that means he has to make a drastic move that will separate them for good.



Beatrice Sand is the author of The Ambrosia Trilogy, a paranormal romance. She lives in a tiny green village in the Netherlands with her husband and tortoiseshell cat Sofie. She found her motivation to write when her niece told her there was nothing better than reading about breathtaking vampires. 

That same day Beatrice started brooding and created a whole new story with breathtaking but dangerous demigods in an urban setting. Beatrice loves eating dark chocolate and drinking coffee, preferably when reading or writing a book that sends butterflies to her stomach, makes her tear up every now and then, and must have a happy ending – but never expect instalove in her books. 




Friday, June 23, 2017

Roamer (#3 Nomad Series) Janine Infante Bosco - Blog Tour


ROAMER


by Janine Infante Bosco
Nomad #3
Publication Date: June 13, 2017
Genres: Adult,  Contemporary, Erotic, MC, Romantic Suspense, 
Can be read as a standalone


BUY







Amazon CA
 http://a.co/dUEUtMl




SYNOPSIS

Deuce

The first moment I stared into Ally's tortured blue eyes, my subconscious knew I'd never escape her. She called to the darkest part of my soul and made it impossible to ignore the strange pull I felt towards her.

Some things are just meant to be.

As long as we were both breathing, my heart would do time with hers. Like the famous outlaw lovers, Bonnie and Clyde, Ally and I committed the perfect crime. I claimed her heart, and she stole mine.

I only meant to save her.

To heal her. 

Now, my past threatens to ruin her.

Wanted dead or alive, I've got her by my side and together well ride.


Ally

I thought the world forgot me.

That I had died at fourteen.

But, I never knew life until I knew him.

Rescued and healed, I found love in the face of an outlaw.

Whether he fails or flies, I'll ride until I die.

I'm his Bonnie and he's my Clyde.

A love as strong as ours will never die.


***NOTE: Contains explicit sexual situations, violence, offensive language, and mature topics. This book deals with sensitive subjects, such as kidnapping and human trafficking. Please be aware of these triggers and keep them in mind while reading. Through the sensitive subjects, the storm passes and the sky clears.there is a happily ever after waiting on the other side. ***

goodreads-badge-add-38px

Review
5 Stars 
🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 

When I read the prologue of this book, I knew that it was going to be a hell of a ride but, it's so much more. 

Deuce was brought up by his father in an MC. Coupled with what his mother did, the loss of his father sent him off the rails. He became a Nomad until he is introduced to the Jack Parish who welcomes him in his club. He doesn't intend to stay as he has a target on his back and he doesn't want to bring trouble to the club members who are unaware that he is on the run. 

Ally was abducted when she was fourteen years old and she is now the possession of the president of an MC. She knows nothing else outside of the rough life that this club leads. She is hooked on drugs. This is her escape. The only way she can forget what she has left behind twelve years ago. 

Deuce first sets eyes on Ally when he goes undercover to obtain some evidence about human trafficking. Her eyes draw him in but she is completely oblivious as her priority is to get her next fix. When she catches him rummaging through the office drawers, she gets the wrong end of the sticks. This leads to Deuce being persued and the abduction of a child in the process. During his capture, Deuce becomes aware of Ally's identity and from here on out, there is one twist after another. It just shows that this is a small world as this revelation is far from what anyone expected. 

Deuce is given the responsibility of looking after Ally and despite his apprehensions, he sees her for who she is. One broken soul recognising another. They develop the once in a lifetime feelings until his past catches up with him. This brings violence and a bloody war. 

When I read Stryker, it took me on the ultimate emotional rollercoaster. This is no different! It's a dark story with so much sufferings that I couldn't help empathising with these characters. The loyalty in the club is a force to be reckoned with. The relationship between Deuce and Ally is raw, but beautiful. After reading the prologue and not knowing what to expect, the outcome is gratifying! There are indications that the next book will be the last and, it will be interesting to see how the despicable character who is responsible for these atrocities fare. 

I received a complimentary eARC and the views expressed are my personal opinion.

#LightItUp


#DeuceIsLoose


OTHER BOOKS IN #THENOMADSERIES....


Drifter  A Nomad Series Novel

FREE WITH KINDLE UNLIMITED!


#driftintochaos #drifter #thenomadseries #FindTheBeautiful #janineinfantebosco

BUY NOW


Paperback 


Amazon AU

Amazon CA 

goodreads-badge-add-38px

Follow up DRIFTER with book two in The Nomad Series 


WANDERER 
FREE WITH KINDLE UNLIMITED!


#Wanderer #thenomadseries #WanderIntoChaos #janineinfantebosco

BUY NOW






Amazon AU

Amazon CA

goodreads-badge-add-38px


WILL JANINE SEE YOU AT ANY OF THESE UPCOMING EVENTS?

Pre-order links for Janine's upcoming events.


#SASS17


July 8, Baltimore, MD






Kiss and Tell


July 29, Allentown PA








Authors, Books & Poker Chips W Nick Bennett


August 12, Las Vegas NV






Can't make a signing take advantage of these mail order specials.


Mail order link



#BeautifulFire




ABOUT JANINE INFANTE BOSCO



Janine Infante Bosco lives in New York City, she has always loved reading and writing. When she was thirteen, she began to write her own stories and her passion for writing took off as the years went on. At eighteen, she even wrote a full screenplay with dreams of one day becoming a member of the Screen Actors Guild.


Janine writes emotionally charged novels with an emphasis on family bonds, strong willed female characters, and alpha male men who will do anything for the women they love. She loves to interact with fans and fellow avid romance readers like herself.


She is proud of her success as an author and the friendships shes made in the book community but her greatest accomplishment to date would be her two sons Joseph and Paul.



ENTER THE GIVEAWAY




Thursday, June 22, 2017

Cover Fire (The Valiant Knox) by Jess Anastasi - Blog Tour

Cover Fire

by Jess Anastasi
Publication Date: June 19, 2017
Genres: Adult, Entangled: Otherworld, Paranormal Romance



BUY



















SYNOPSIS


If the assignment is crazy, dangerous, or a little of both, Sub-Lieutenant Sebastian Rayne can't help but take on the challenge. So when Command Intelligence tags him to fly one of their agents behind enemy lines, it seems like just another routine death-defying mission. Crash landing on the planet was a piece of cake, but the gorgeous agent he delivered safely to her meeting is now believed dead and he must return to retrieve her body.


After Agent Jenna Branson realizes her own people attempted to have her killed, she enlists the hot stick jockey's help. His new mission? Sneak her back onto his ship to ferret out who wanted to get rid of her and why. But she fears her growing feelings for Seb have blinded her to his reckless insistence on helping her stay alive, and his rash behavior will cause them both to lose their lives.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33976127-seduced-by-sin

Review 
5 Stars 
🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 

Cover Fire is a SciFi taking place in outer space where conflicts abound and double agents have infiltered the Command Intelligence. A war against technology!

Seb is the best fighter pilot in the organisation. He has a terrific sense of humour and appears to be too laid back but there is more to him that meets the eyes. Except for his looks! 

Tessa is one of the best secret agents. She has dedicated the last ten years, putting on various guises and she no longer remembers who she really is. Interacting with others outside her missions is uncomfortable! 

Seb is given the task of transporting Jenna to her next mission behind enemy lines. Drop her off and return to base. Simple? The first hurdle is navigating the ship that they have been allocated, then avoiding being detected by the enemy. As soon as Seb returns, he is summoned and ordered to go straight back to retrieve Jenna's body. What he finds when he gets there is a total surprise. 

Jenna has realised that there is a conspiracy and is determined to get to the bottom of its origin. Seb believes in her and together, they embark on a treacherous and dangerous journey. They didn't expect to fall for each other though. Seb is cautious because he has been so badly betrayed that it still stings. Jenna is surprised at her reaction to him, and the current situation doesn't bode well for either of them. 

Identifying the moles proves to be dangerous. The traitors play their cards well and they are lethal. Seb puts his life on the line for Jenna and she is prepared to do the same. Their interactions are witty but passionate and loving. The plot is strong and convincing. The team spirit of the stick hockeys is examplary. This novel is full of suspense. It had me guessing and on the edge of my seat most of the time. It's so well constructed that it's like watching a movie. 

I received a complimentary eARC from the publisher via NetGalley and the views expressed are my personal opinion.

ABOUT JESS ANASTASI



Jess has been making up stories ever since she can remember. Though her messy handwriting made it hard for anyone else to read them, she wasn't deterred and now she gets to make up stories for a living. She loves loud music, a good book on a rainy day, and probably spends too much time watching too many TV shows. Jess lives in regional Victoria, Australia, with her very supportive husband, three daughters, two border collie dogs, and one cat who thinks he's one of the kids.



ENTER THE GIVEAWAY


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Silver Silence (#1 Psy Changeling Trinity) Nalini Singh


Author                                 Nalini Singh 
Publication Date               13 June 2017 
Genre                                  Adult Paranormal 
                                             Fiction Romance - SciFi 



New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh introduces a bold new chapter in her extraordinary paranormal romance saga with the Psy-Changeling Trinity series. Wild passion will encounter the darkest of betrayal...

Control. Precision. Family. These are the principles that drive Silver Mercant. At a time when the fledgling Trinity Accord seeks to unite a divided world, with Silver playing a crucial role as director of a worldwide emergency response network, wildness and chaos are the last things she needs in her life. But that’s exactly what Valentin Nikolaev, alpha of the StoneWater Bears, brings with him.

Valentin has never met a more fascinating woman. Though Silver is ruled by Silence—her mind clear of all emotion—Valentin senses a whisper of fire around her. That’s what keeps him climbing apartment buildings to be near her. But when a shadow assassin almost succeeds in poisoning Silver, the stakes become deadly serious…and Silver finds herself in the heart of a powerful bear clan.

Her would-be assassin has no idea what their poison has unleashed...
 














Well! Another fabulous addition to the Psy - Changeling Series! Trinity is now in place. Humans, Psy and Changelings are working together for a better world after the fall of Silence. Consortium, an anti Trinity group is intent on undermining this new agreement for their own selfish needs and, there is a blossoming romance between a burly bear and an ice queen. 

Valentin is the Alpha of the StoneWater Bears in Russia. He has everything that's required of an alpha. And more! His broad shoulders carry more than they should and his heart is just as big. 

Silver, once the assistant to the most powerful telekinetic and teleporter is now in charge of EmNet, a global emergency system. She is Silent. Emotions are foreign to her and she has no intentions of changing that anytime soon. Valentin, the burly bear has other ideas for the ice queen! 

The way he goes about courting her is so adorable. Just like him. The attempt made on Silver's life changes everything. The safest place for her recovery just happens to be StoneWater. She has to put up with Valentin and his rowdy clan but as she gets to know them, she realises that they are close knit. Not unlike her and her own family. Valentin hacks at her defense, slowly but surely until she discovers the beauty of skin privileges. Trust comes with that privilege and, they divulge their most guarded secrets. One of those secrets can destroy what they could have but they are prepared to make sacrifices, even though it's an uncertain and dangerous journey. 

I was compelled from the first page. It's a brilliant story, which highlights family values, devotion and determination. Consortium is not the sole enemy and this adds another layer to this intricately crafted story. The humour is contagious and the cubs are mischievous but adorable. Valentin wears his heart on his sleeves and Silver's loyalty to those she loves has no bounds. The plot is complex and solid. The romance is full hearted. I loved this instalment as much as I did the previous ones in this series and looking forward to the next one. 






I've been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There's no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated every month).

So far, I've worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer's mill.







Translate